Kenny Sway

@sway.kenny

@triplebeamqueen

My last post Remnants of Chocolate City, mentioned my desire to see Kenny again but with my camera. After the InterAction Forum with President Bill Clinton at the Washington Convention Center, I heard the sweet falsetto voice as I walked down 9th street. It was Kenny. These were some of the moments I captured as he serenaded any walkers passing by. Some Washingtonians lingered and jammed to his new renditions of old school songs, bringing back memories of the golden time of black music. Others were compelled to talk to him in between songs to show their appreciation. They say, “give that boy a record deal already” or “he needs to go on the Voice” or “I went to school with that boy and he’s always sang like that.” I, the wallflower, could not but help to observe the liveliness of the streets. The streets of Washington DC.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

